the corner of what was called Louisa Street (now a section of
Dunlop Street East), sits what is now known as the Harbour View
Inn. The house is believed to have been built about 1885 for
John Forsythe, Chief Clerk in the post office, who by 1891 was
described simply as a gentleman. The house (constructed in 1885)
is on the former site of Meldrum's Hotel.
Itís believed that the Inn may in fact be two houses, the rear (Berczy
Street) section being the oldest, possibly dating to the mid
1850's. This can be clearly seen in the brickwork at the rear of
keeping with the 1800's theme, the Harbour View Inn proudly
bestowed the names of the first 10 mayors of the City of Barrie
on our suites. On each suite door, there is a plaque with the
Mayor's name, and the dates they held office.
You can catch a glimpse of Barrie's history through the many
old photographs and newspaper articles from the 1800's that flow
through our hallways. Step back in time at the Harbour View Inn!